Rear Sway Bar for a 2011 Mazda 3 GT?

Discussion in 'Wheels, Tires, Suspension, and Brakes' started by million, Mar 15, 2012.

1. million

million Member

As I had mentioned in my introduction, I'm new to Mazdas and new to the forums. It was recommended that look into adding a rear sway bar so I thought I'd look into it. I did search some online and I did an internal search on the forums to see if anyone had posted up options. I came across an adjustable rear sway bar made by CORK Sport but that is pretty much the only one I came up with. I would love some recommendations if anyone has some. :)

Also, would it be wise to look at a new front sway bar as well?

2. mndsm

mndsm I'M OFFENDED!

Don't mess with the front swaybar. I did front and rear in my ms3, and while the rear was less than an hour to install, the front took 6 hours with two people. You have to drop the front subframe. I will never do that again. Check out Hotchkis- those are the bars that are in my ms3. Also- Whiteline, Cobb, and Tripoint. I almost want to say that the sways are the same from the 1g to 2g cars (I am NOT 100% on this so don't shoot me if they're not) and if that's the case, there's a TON of options out there.
  3. million

million Member

Good to know! Thanks for the info. I'll do a little online searching for those brands.

Maybe a stupid question but what advantages are there to adding the rear sway bar?
  4. Big Nate

Big Nate Chaos Engineer

Same advantage as adding the front. It will control body roll.

Never a stupid question.
  5. million

million Member

What would the advantages be of having an adjustable rear sway bar instead of a fixed sway bar? Thanks.
  6. mndsm

mndsm I'M OFFENDED!