Newbie here w/questions about 08.5 m3s

Discussion in 'Performance Tech & Modifications' started by zoomin, Aug 25, 2008.

1. zoomin

zoomin New Member

I have recently bought a 08.5 m3s Metro Grey w/5spd. I have done a few things so far....Modified stock air box w/K&N filter, window tint and removal of some emblems. I Love driving this car! Wondering what you guys would recommend for exhaust. I'd really jsut like to upgrade the muffler for a more aggressive exhaust note. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. Workdawg

Workdawg NARWHAL

Welcome to the site. I'm got a Metro Gray MS3 as well, mines a 6spd though :p

As for exhaust, not really sure. Most of the MS3 owners here still have stock exhaust with a couple exceptions.

3. zoomin

zoomin New Member

Thanks!! Mine is a reg. Mazda 3 s 5dr....Not a MS3.....

4. dmention7

dmention7 Hater

L3rn 2 r33d noob! lulz!

On a serious note, I believe there are one or two aftermarket catbacks for a regular 3 floating around here. mazdamn02 and spek1098 come to mind.... guys?

5. mndsm

mndsm I'M OFFENDED!

Shadyspeed3 as well. Schmitty too shortly, if he hasn't already.

6. Workdawg

Workdawg NARWHAL

Ahhh... tricky!

Ms3 and m3s look so similar!

7. zoomin

zoomin New Member

Wish mine was a speed.....needed the gas mileage though!!....100 mi commute...

8. Workdawg

Workdawg NARWHAL

100 miles? OUCH. I'd be filling up every other day :(

9. zoomin

zoomin New Member

no kidding! I'm getting 32-35 MPG with it.....depending on how I drive. I'm really happy with the car overall. Just doing a few improvements to make it more fun to drive.

10. dmention7

dmention7 Hater

When it really comes down to it, there's not much you can do to get power out of the regular 3. Intake and catback will probably get you about 15hp, but you can't go too far beyond that without a lot of money and/or making the car less comfortable for long commutes.