• We have updated to the newest version of the forum. Please let us know if you see any issues. And, yes, we know the shoutbox is gone. We'll see about getting it back if they make a newer version.

Forum Mafia Game - SCUM will rise again!

JohnnyT

Looking to get this revived - post if you're interested in playing.

Everything below is from Workdawg's original post:

So, a few weeks ago I started playing this forum game called Mafia. It's a game of deception and trickery, I suppose. It eats up a good portion of my free time at work and gives me something to do when I'm bored. I like it A LOT.

I was thinking about starting up a game here and was wondering if people would actually be interested in playing it if I were to moderate a game. There is a fair bit of work involved in moderating, so I'd rather not go through the trouble if people don't think they'd be interested in it.

A quick overview of how it works:

X number of players join the game and are randomly assigned to a team. At the most basic level (which it would be for the first game, at least) there are only two teams. There are the town (good), and the scum (bad). The typical newbie game setup consists of 7 town and 2 scum. As the moderator, I would randomly assign people to teams and send out PMs to all players telling them what team they are on. No one knows what team anyone else is on, with the exception of the scum, who know who their partner is. (This creates a big advantage to scum, because they are the only people who know 100% what team everyone is on, which is why they are so outnumbered)

The point of the game is for your faction to reach it's win condition. For town, this is to lynch all the scum players. For scum, this is to make it impossible for the town to win. It doesn't matter who is left at the end of the game, if town reaches their condition, all town players win. If town does not reach their win condition, then scum win.

The way the game is played is as follows.